4th International Workshop on 5G/5G+ Communications in Higher Frequency Bands (5GCHFB)
in conjunction with IEEE Globecom’17, December 4, 2017
Home 5GCM White Paper Program CommitteehistoryRTT-ESLA


General Chairs:

Dr. Wen Tong
Huawei Fellow

CTO Huawei Wireless

Dr. Wen Tong is the Huawei Fellow, Head of Huawei Wireless Research, CTO, Huawei Wireless. Prior to joining Huawei in March 2009, Dr. Tong was the Nortel Fellow and global head of the Network Technology Labs at Nortel. He joined the Wireless Technology Labs at Bell Northern Research in 1995. He had pioneered fundamental technologies from 1G to 4G wireless with 350 granted US patents.
Since 2010, Dr. Tong is the vice president of Huawei wireless research. In 2011, He was appointed the Head of Communications Technologies Labs of Huawei, he spearhead to lead Huawei’s 5G wireless research and development.
Dr. Tong was elected as a Huawei Fellow and an IEEE Fellow. In 2014, he was the recipient of IEEE Communications Society Industry Innovation Award for “the leadership and contributions in development of 3G and 4G wireless systems”. Dr. Tong serves as Board of Director of WiFi Alliance and Board of Director of Green Touch Consortium.

Takehiro Nakamura
VP and 5G Director of NTT DOCOMO

Takehiro Nakamura joined NTT Laboratories in 1990. He is now VP and Managing Director of the 5G Laboratory of NTT DOCOMO, Inc. Mr. Nakamura has been working for research and development of the W-CDMA, HSPA, LTE/LTE-Advanced and 5G technologies.
He has been engaged in the standardization activities for the W-CDMA, HSPA, LTE/LTE-Advanced and 5G at ARIB in Japan since 1997. He is currently the leader of 2020 and Beyond Ad Hoc(20B AH) in ARIB and Acting Chairman of Plan & Strategy Committee in 5G Mobile Communication Promotion Forum(5GMF) in Japan. He has been contributing to standardization activities in 3GPP since1999. He had contributed to 3GPP TSG-RAN as a vice chairman during March 2005 to March 2009 and as a chairman during April 2009 to March 2013.

Executive Committee:

Dr. Jin Yang
Fellow, Version Communications, US

Dr. Jin Yang is a Fellow at Verizon Communications, responsible for wireless technology and strategy.  She is leading next generation wireless network architecture and technologies, including 5G access technologies, LTE-Advanced, Machine Type Communications, Self-Organizing Network and Heterogeneous Network.  She has played a key role in development and commercialization of LTE network in 2010, Verizon’s choice of LTE as 4G technology in 2007, various CDMA network developments since 1995 at Verizon, Vodafone and AirTouch Communications.   Dr. Jin Yang has contributed to establish US IS-95 CDMA, IS-2000 EV-DO, and 3GPP LTE and ongoing 5G standardizations.

Dr. Amitabha Ghosh, Head of NARS, Nokia, USA

Dr. Amitabha (Amitava) Ghosh joined Motorola in 1990 after receiving his Ph.D in Electrical Engineering from Southern Methodist University, Dallas.  Since joining Motorola, he worked on multiple wireless technologies starting from IS-95, cdma-2000, 1xEV-DV/1XTREME, 1xEV-DO, UMTS, HSPA, 802.16e/WiMAX/802.16m, Enhanced EDGE and 3GPP LTE. Dr. Ghosh has 60 issued patents and numerous external and internal technical papers.  Currently, he is Head, North America Radio Systems within the Technology and Innovation office of Nokia Solutions and Networks. He is currently working on 3GPP LTE-Advanced and 5G technologies. His research interests are in the area of digital communications, signal processing and wireless communications. He is a senior member of IEEE and co-author of the book titled “Essentials of LTE and LTE-A”.

Dr. Yi Wang
Principal Engineer
Huawei, China

Dr. Yi Wang [SM’11] is currently a principal engineer at Huawei Technologies Co., Ltd. in Shanghai. He received the M.S.E.E and Ph.D degrees in information engineering department from Beijing University of Posts & Telecommunications, China, in 1997 and 2000 respectively. He has worked at Tsinghua University and the University of Kiel in Germany as post-doctor. Since 2005 he joined Huawei Technologies Co., Ltd. he led a series of research projects including beyond 3G, superposition coding for LTE-advanced system, distributed antenna system, cloud RAN, massive MIMO and 5G mmWave communications. Currently he is leading 5G multi-band communications research. Dr. Yi Wang owns 60+ patents and 70+ publications. Many patents have been realized in LTE product or used in 3GPP and IEEE802.11 standards. He has been involved in as series of research organizations including Moible VCE, WWRF, 3GPP, IEEE802, and IEEE conferences.

Prof. Joerg Widmer,
Director of IMDEA, Spain


Dr. Joerg Widmer is Research Professor as well as Research Director of the IMDEA Networks Institute in Madrid, Spain. He received his M.S. and PhD degrees in computer science from the University of Mannheim, Germany in 2000 and 2003, respectively. From 2005 to 2010, he was manager of the Ubiquitous Networking Research Group at DOCOMO Euro-Labs in Munich, Germany, leading several projects in the area of mobile and cellular networks. Before, he worked as post-doctoral researcher at EPFL, Switzerland. Joerg Widmer authored more than 150 conference and journal papers and three IETF RFCs, holds 13 patents, serves on the editorial board of IEEE Transactions on Communications, and regularly participates in program committees of several major conferences. Recently he was awarded an ERC consolidator grant, the Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Research Award from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, as well as a Spanish Ramon y Cajal grant. He is senior member of IEEE and ACM.

Technical Program Committee:

Dr. Tetsuro Imai, NTT DoCoMo
Koymen Ozge, Qualcomm
Henrik, Asplund, Ericsson
Zhenyu Shi, Huawei
Clara Li, Intel
Yi Zheng, Chinamobile
Dimitrios Koutsonikolas, U. Buffalo
Javier Lorca Hernando, Telefonica
Adrian Loch, IMDEA Networks
Carlo Fischione, KTH
Xinyu Zhang, U. Wisconsin
Sofie Pollin, KU Leuven
Nuria González Prelcic, Universidade de Vigo
Mr. Zohair Abu-Shaban, The Australian National University
Dr. Ahmad Awada, Nokia Bell Labs
Prof. Rui Dinis, Faculdade de Ciências e Tecnologia, University Nova de Lisboa
Dr. Michel Fattouche, University of Calgary
Prof. Carlo Fischione, KTH
Dr. Nuria González-Prelcic, Universidad de Vigo
Mr. Ghaith Hattab, University of California, Los Angeles
Mr. Sayed Hoseini, University of New South Wales
Ms. Deepa Jagyasi, IIIT Hyderabad
Prof. Dimitrios Koutsonikolas, University at Buffalo, SUNY
Mr. Vinod Kristem, University of Southern California
Ms. Sheeba Kumari, VTU, New Horizon College of Engineering
Prof. Ht Kung, Harvard University
Dr. Adrian Loch, IMDEA Networks Institute
Mr. Javier Lorca, Telefonica I+D
Dr. Jian Luo, Huawei Technologies Duesseldorf GmbH
Mr. Sheng Luo, Nanyang Technological University
Dr. Hosein Nikopour, Intel Corporation
Ms. Andreia Pereira, Instituto de Telecomunicações - University of Coimbra
Prof. Sofie Pollin, KU Leuven
Mr. Min Qin, USTC
Ms. Merve Saimler, Koc University
Dr. Motoharu Sasaki, NTT Access Network Service Systems Laboratories
Prof. Donglin Wang, Westlake Institute of Advanced Study
Prof. Xinyu Zhang, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Dr. Yingjie Zhang, Samsung Electronics
Mr. Kun Zheng, Huawei Technologies Co. Ltd.
Dr. Zhenyu Shi, Huawei Technologies Co., Ltd.
Dr. Bin Hu, Huawei Technologies Co., Ltd.